Sepang International Circuit Welcomes Appointment of Tan Sri Azman Yahya as Non-Executive Chairman

81476443197_TSAzmanYahya.jpgSEPANG, 14 October 2016 – Sepang International Circuit (SIC) welcomes the appointment of Tan Sri Mohamed Azman Yahya as the non-executive Chairman of SIC. The appointment of Tan Sri Azman for a period of three years was announced by the Ministry of Finance today. Tan Sri Azman has served as a member of SIC’s Board of Directors since 2010.
“It is a great honour to be appointed to this role and I am pleased to have the opportunity to carry on the valuable work of my predecessors Tan Sri Mokhzani Mahathir and Allahyarham Tan Sri Basir Ismail, as Chairman of Sepang International Circuit. I hope to further contribute to the development and growth of motorsports in Malaysia, a field very close to my heart,” Tan Sri Azman commented.
SIC Chief Executive Officer Dato’ Razlan Razali said, “On behalf of the team, I warmly welcome Tan Sri Azman to his new role as Chairman of SIC. I consider Tan Sri Azman one of my mentors at SIC and in the world of motorsports. His passion for motorsports and comprehensive knowledge in this field is inspirational and we are honoured to be able to tap on his wisdom to grow SIC and develop Malaysian motorsports in the years to come.”
Tan Sri Azman is known for his passion for racing. He was named ‘Driver of The Year’ by the Automobile Association of Malaysia in 2004 after winning the Malaysian Super Series and the Open Class in the Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race. A qualified chartered accountant, Tan Sri Azman is a board member of Khazanah Nasional Berhad and is also a member and advisor of several national agencies.
For more information, please contact SIC National Press Officer Nor Lina Ayob at