2016 SIC International Individual Time Trial offers cash prizes totalling RM23,150


Final Motorsport Free Morning of the year to kick off Sunday’s activity line-up
Sepang, 15 December 2016 – Professional cyclists from Malaysia and around the region will be among 105 passionate cyclists of all ages and classifications attempting to chart a new speed record at Sepang International Circuit (SIC) this Sunday, 18 December 2016. The 2016 SIC International Individual Time Trial, organised by Bike Tech Subang Sdn Bhd, will see the cyclists attempting to record the fastest single lap achieved on a bicycle on the 5.543km track in Sepang. The time trial event, taking place from 1100am to 100pm, is immediately preceded by the last Motorsport Free Morning session for 2016, scheduled from 700am to 1000am on Sunday.
“The Sepang circuit has long been the place to break speed records in a car or on a motorbike and the F1 and MotoGP fastest lap records are well-known among fans. With our growing reputation as a venue for non-motorised sports, this is a great time to start recording top speeds for cycling as well. We hope the 2016 SIC International Individual Time Trial will be the start of a famed record that many cyclists will dream of achieving, and we will continue to see faster times recorded year after year. For this first attempt, we have attracted a good number of professional cyclists. We hope in time to come, top cycling superstars from around the world will also be attracted to come break our fastest lap record,” said Dato’ Razlan Razali, Chief Executive Officer of SIC.
The time trial event will see rolling starts for each rider, with 30 to 60 seconds intervals. The riders are categorised in 11 categories: UCI Pro/National/State; Men Junior A (13-16 Years); Men Junior B (17-21 Years); Men 22-29 Years; Men 30-39 Years; Men 40-49 Years; Men 50 Years & Above; Women Junior (13-21 Years); Women 22-35 Years; Women 36-60 Years and the invitation-only CEO & Corporate Category.
Cash prizes will be awarded for the Top 5 fastest cyclists in all categories, while three Grand Prizes will be awarded for the Fastest Lap overall, with the 1st,2nd and 3rd fastest laps overall earning the winning cyclists RM10,000, RM3,000 and RM2,000 respectively. In the F1, the fastest lap was achieved by Lewis Hamilton this year, when he recorded a 1’32.850s lap during qualifying while in 2015, Marc Marquez recorded the fastest ever time on two wheels around the Sepang circuit during pre-season testing, with a time of 1’58.867s.
Among the professional cyclists that can be seen in action on Sunday are Anuar Manan and Mohd Nor Umardi Rosli of Team TSG (Terengganu Cycling Team), Fauzan Ahmad Lutfi of Team Malaysia, and Muhammad Zawawi Azman, Nik Mohd Azwan Zulkiflie and Sofian Nabil Omar Mohd Bakri of Team National Sports Council, as well as Aiman Cahyadi and Agung Ali Sahbana of Team Indonesia.
Meanwhile, all members of the public are welcome to cycle, skateboard, rollerblade, run or walk on the track from 700am to 1000am. All they need to do to enter is purchase any DRIVE M7 energy drink and register at the Registration Counter before entering the track. Registration starts at 630am at Pit 4.
The 2016 SIC International Individual Time Trial is also supported by DRIVE M7 Energy Drinks, GARMIN and Rudy Project.
Keep track of the latest updates on SIC’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/sepanginternationalcircuit
For more information, please contact SIC National Press Officer Nor Lina Ayob at norlina.ayob@sepangcircuit.com.