Reigning Champion Mark Darwin Bounces Back To Win Race 1

For Immediate Release Malaysia Championship Series 2019 – Round 2 – Race 1
Saturday, 20th April 2019-After a nightmarish Round 1 a fortnight ago, Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) defending champion, Mark Darwin bounced back in Round 2 today; as he led from start to finish to win in dominating style in the opening race for Round 2 at Sepang International Circuit (SIC).

Victory for the SITTY Fast Racing Team was made even sweeter as Darwin led a 1-2 finish for the team with Keifli Othman taking second place for the overall race and the T Production class; finishing 14.692 seconds behind Darwin, who competed Round 1 with Akid Azlee, who had to be contended with eighth place for another disappointing outing.

Starting from pole in his Honda FD2 R machine with Keifli next to him on the front row on a similar machine, Darwin, who opted to drive solo for Round 2, completed 21 laps in the one-hour endurance which started at 6.50pm and finished under the bright circuit’s lights.

Round 1 double winner and e-MCS star Ady Rahimy Rashid was unable to maintain his winning streak in the S Production(SP2) class; as the SIC Talent Development Programme driver had to be contended with second place.

Carrying a 60kg additional weight in success ballast in his Suzuki Swift machine, the HIREV SIC Dream Chaser driver finished 2.817 seconds behind the partnership of Chong Kiat Wai and Takashi Oi of Riyoz Racing, who completed 20 laps for the race in 1 hour 2 minutes 9.870 seconds.

Driving a Honda Civic FD2 machine, Malaysia’s rising talent Brendan Paul won the S Production(SP1) class; edging the Japanese partnership of Ken Urata and Masahiko Ida of RWORKS, who were the double winners in the opening round for the class.

The M Production class was won by the awesome partnership of Fariqe Hairuman and Syafiq Ali of Proton R3 Motorsports. Driving their trusted Proton Iriz, the reigning Sepang 1000km endurance race champion completed 21 laps; winning comfortably over double Round 1 winner, Leona Chin of Tedco Racing, who finished 20 laps.

Race 2 will be held at 5pm tomorrow, which also feature Race 2 actions in the TCSA by IMSP; the Ferrari Challenge Asia Pacific and Thailand Super Series; as well as Race 3 and Race 4 for the F4 SEA Championship; and the opening two races of the 2019 Asia Classic Car Challenge season.

Fans can catch all the actions for free from the Main Grandstand. Alternatively, fans can also follow the actions live via livestreaming on social media at SIC’s Facebook page. To be closer to the actions, fans can purchase special Paddock passes.

Results – Top 3 Finishers   T Production Class  1.Mark Darwin (Honda FD2 R) – 21 laps (1:00:42.715) 2. Keifli Othman (Honda FD2 R) – 21 laps 3. Jonathan Xie (Honda FD2 R) 2:28.217s – 21 laps 

S Production(SP1) Class 1.Brendan Paul (Honda Civic FD2) – 21 laps 2. Ken Urata / Masahiko Ida (Honda Civic FD2) – 21 laps 3. Mohd Zuraimi Mustapha / Ahmad Tarmizi Tahang (Honda Civic FD2) – 21 laps

M Production Class 1.Fariqe Hairuman/ Syafiq Ali (Proton Iriz) – 21 laps  2. Leona Chin (Suzuki Swift) – 20 laps 3. Farid Sani / Lau Joo Yong (Suzuki Swift) – 20 laps

S Production(SP2) Class  1.Chong Kiat Wai / Takashi Oi (Suzuki Swift) - 20 laps  2. Ady Rahimy Rashid (Suzuki Swift) – 20 laps  3. Allan Tam / Lo Kai Fung (Honda Fit RS) – 20 laps

For more information, please contact SIC National Press Officer, Nor Lina Ayob at