Proton R3 Returns To Stamp Authority in MCS

For Immediate Release
Malaysia Championship Series – Round 2 – Qualifying 
Proton R3 Returns To Stamp Authority in MCS 
Saturday, 20th April 2019-Proton R3 Motorsports returns to the Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) and immediately stamped their authority in Round 2 as Sepang 1000km (S1K) endurance race reigning champions – Fariqe Hairuman and Syafiq Ali blew away his rivals in qualifying the Malaysia Touring Car category, or M Production class.
Driving their winning Proton Iriz, the awesome partnership chalked an impressive 2 minutes 40.188 seconds for their best lap around the 5,543km in the 30-minutes qualifying, which was held under the circuit’s new lights from 9.15pm.
Team-mates James Veerapen and new partner Mitchell Cheah was second in the timesheet for the class; clocking a time of 2 minutes 40.793 seconds in their Proton Saga. Round 1 double winner Leona Chin, who was carrying an additional 60kgs additional weight in her Suzuki Swift machine was placed third.
The T Production class saw the domination of Sitty Fast Racing Team and their Honda FD2R machines; with the defending champion Mark Darwin leading the way with a best lap time of 2 minutes 26.123 seconds; followed by Keifli Othman and youngster Akid Azlee in second and third respectively. 
Round 1 double winner, Ady Rahimy Rashid of Team HIREV SIC Dream Chaser, who is carrying 60kgs of additional weight in success ballast in his Suzuki Swift, had to be contended with second place; losing to top qualifiers Chong Kiat Wai and Takashi Oi for the S Production(SP2) class.
Qualifying for S Production(SP1) class was topped by Malaysian youngster Brendan Paul, who upstaged the Japanese partnership of Ken Urata and Masahiko Ida. Both in Honda Civic FD2 machines, Brendan clocked 2 minutes 34.164 second against his rival’s time of 2 minutes 34.164 seconds.
Race 1 will be held late evening tomorrow in a one-hour endurance format at 6.50pm with Race 2 to be held at 5pm on Sunday. 
Results – Top 3 Qualifiers 
T Production Class 
1.Mark Darwin (Honda FD2 R) 2:26.123s
2. Keifli Othman (Honda FD2 R) 2:26.916s
3. Ahmad Akid Azlee (Honda FD2 R) 2:28.217s
S Production (SP1) Class
1.Brendan Paul (Honda Civic FD2) 2:32.834s 
2. Ken Urata / Masahiko Ida (Honda Civic FD2) 2:34.164s 
3. Marcus Ong / Ong Gee Yong (Honda Civic FD2 R) 2:34.626s 
M Production Class
1.Fariqe Hairuman/ Syafiq Ali (Proton Iriz) 2:40.188s 
2. James Veerapen/ Mitchell Cheah (Proton Saga) 2:40.793s 
3. Leona Chin (Suzuki Swift) 2:40.832s
S Production (SP2) Class 
1.Chong Kiat Wai / Takashi Oi (Suzuki Swift) 2:48.096s 
2. Ady Rahimy Rashid (Suzuki Swift) 2:49.208s 
3. Tam Yiu Kee / Lo Kai Fung (Honda Fit RS) 2:51.799s
For more information, please contact SIC National Press Officer Nor Lina Ayob at